Connect with us

Latest News

Buhari Swears In New INEC Commissioners (Photos)



Buhari INEC
Kindly Share This

Buhari Swears In New INEC Commissioners (Photos)

Buhari INEC

President Muhammadu Buhari swears in the new INEC national commissioners at the Council Chamber of the State House in Abuja on February 23, 2022.

President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in six new national commissioners for the Independent National and Electoral Commission (INEC).

The INEC national commissioners are Mohammed Haruna from Niger State, Mary Agbamuche-Mbu from Delta State, and Ukaegbu Nnamdi from Abia State.

Others include Major General AB Alkali (Rtd) from Adamawa State, Professor Rhoda Gumus from Bayelsa State, and Mr Sam Olumekun from Ondo State.

The President swore in the national commissioners on Wednesday while presiding over the Federal Executive Council meeting at the State House in Abuja.

Buhari INEC2

One of the INEC national commissioners signs a document during the inauguration ceremony at the Council Chamber of the State House in Abuja on February 23, 2022.

Physically in attendance were the Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo; Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha, and Chief of Staff to the President, Professor Ibrahim Gambari.

President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, as well as the National Security Adviser, Major General Babagana Monguno (Rtd), were also present.

Ministers in attendance included Chris Ngige (Labour and Employment), Festus Keyamo (Labour and Employment – State), Ogbonnaya Onu (Science and Technology), Mohammed Abdullahi (Science and Technology – State), Rotimi Amaechi (Transport), and Lai Mohammed (Information and Culture).

Buhari INEC1

INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, poses for a photograph with the national commissioners at the State House in Abuja on February 23, 2022.

Also present were Olamilekan Adegbite (Mines and Steel Development), Uche Ogar (Mines and Steel Development – State), Abubakar Aliyu (Power), Jeddy Agba (Power – State), Jeddy Agba, Babatunde Fashola (Works and Housing), and Clem Agba (Finance, Budget, and National Planning – State).

The Head of Service, Dr Folashade Yemi-Esan, and other members of the President’s cabinet attended the meeting virtually from their various offices in the nation’s capital.

INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, led the electoral umpire’s national commissioners to the Aso Villa for the inauguration ceremony.

Credit: Channels

Kindly Share This
Dear Reader, Fetching good and credible news information is tedious and requires huge finance. We are soliciting support from our readers and fans. For as low as N1,000  you can be a part of our golden membership. Your support would go a long way in assisting us to continue guaranteeing quality news to our readers across the globe. Bank transfers can be made to: Zenith Bank 1014932118 Ireporteronline communications Inquiries: Email: [email protected] Whatsapp: +234 7032341798 FOR BUSSINESS ADVERT CLICK THE WHATSAPP IMAGE BELOW
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.