Connect with us

Latest News

Delta: State Assembly Confirms 17 As Commissioners



Kindly Share This

Seventeen nominees of the eighteen forwarded by Governor Okowa to Delta Assembly for appointment as Commissioners and members of the State Executive Council have been confirmed.

The confirmation followed the screening of the nominees at the plenary of the House presided over by Speaker Sherrif Oborevwori.

First to be screened, after a motion to that effect by the Deputy Majority Leader, Hon Kenneth Preyor, was adopted, were a former member of the House of Representatives, Hon Evelyn Oboro and Princess Shola Ogbemi-Daibo, formerly of the Delta Assembly.

Others who had their appointments confirmed were Mr Charles Ehiedu Aniagwu, Dr Barry Gbe, Mr. Jullius Egbedi, Mr. Ifeanyi Egwuyenga, Mrs Flora Alanta, Mr Arthur Akpowhowho, Mr. Festus Ochonogor, Mr Lawrence Ejiofor, Chris Onogba and Mr Churchill Amagada, all members of the immediate past Delta State Executive Council.

Also screened and confirmed were Mr Jonathan Ukodhiko, Noel Omordon, Mrs. Rose Esenwu, Mr Johnbull Edema and Mrs Kate Oniawan.

The eighteenth nominee and immediate past Commissioner for Finance, Mr Fidelis Tilije, was absent.

The Assembly also screened and confirmed appointments of nine Secretaries to Local Government (SLG) in addition to the eighteen earlier screened and confirmed by the House.

Those approved by the House include Labo Fun-Akpo, Bomadi, Felix Edemenya, Ndokwa East, Paul Owie-Oduru, Patani, Chukwuemeke Iyeh, Oshimili South, Harry Chukunedu, Ukwuani, Mrs Omare Gabari, Warri southwest, Felix Oderhohwo, Ughelli North, Igbuduma David Ejoor and Mr Samuel Khalil, Warri North.

The motion for the confirmation of the nine nominees’ appointments was moved by the Deputy Majority Leader, Hon Oboro Preyor and adopted.

Kindly Share This
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *