Connect with us


APC Speaks On The Zone To Produce Presidential Ticket




APC Speaks On The Zone To Produce Presidential Ticket


Following its inability to get the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, to adjust the 2023 general election time-table, the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, has reviewed its own primary election timetable, saying there is no truth in the assertion it had zoned its presidential ticket to any part of the country.

The decision was taken at yesterday’s meeting of the Abdullahi Adamu-led National Working Committee, NWC, of the party.

The APC hierarchy had side-stepped clamour to zone its presidential ticket to the South on the ground that the current leader, President Muhammadu Buhari, is from the North and the National Chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, is also from the North.

Read Also Names Of APC Presidential Aspirants Who Bought N100Million Forms But Failed To Submit (Full List)

There is a counter-clamour to throw the ticket open to all the six geo-political zones of the country, which seems to be gaining the upper hand.

Among the 23 presidential aspirants still left in the race for the APC ticket, 19 are from the South, while four are from the North.

Among the Southern aspirants, eight are from the South-East that has the least number of delegates; seven are from the South-West; and the South-South has four.

In the North, North-West has two, while North-East and North-Central has one each.

The APC aspirants from South-West are Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, Senator Ajayi Borrofice, Mr. Dimeji Bankole, Dr Tunde Bakare, Dr Kayode Fayemi and Senator Ibikunle Amosun.

Those from the South-East are Chief Emeka Nwajiuba, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Engr Dave Umahi, Senator Ken Nnamani, Mr. Nicholas nwagbo, Mr. Ikeobasi Mokelu and Mrs. Uju Ohanenye.

The contenders from the South-South are Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, Senator Godswill Akpabio, Senator Ben Ayade, and Mr. Tein Jack-Rich.

The aspirants from the North are Alhaji Yahaya Bello (North-Central), Senate President Ahmad Lawan (North-East), Mohammed Badaru (North-West) and Ahmed Yerima (North-West).

Asked if the APC has zoned the presidential ticket, APC’s National Publicity Secretary, Mr, Felix Morka, said: “There is no such decision made by the National Working Committee.”

For More News Join Our WhatsApp Group With This Link Below

1 Comment
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Dr. Razaq Amusa
4 months ago

It’s becoming clearer now the hidden agenda of the North. Let’s wait for the outcome. God bless Nigeria


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x